Strategic Plan


animated people sitting at a board table

Your Library Board

Public library boards are governing boards, legal corporations with the authority to make policy and to govern the library's affairs under the Public Libraries Act, RSO 1990.

Interested in becoming a Board member? More information is available here..

To find out more about library board structure, policies and procedures visit the Ontario Library Association website at »

Meeting Minutes

All of our board meeting minutes are recorded and posted to the website in the right column of the "Board" page. They are in PDF format so you will need to have a PDF reader such as Adobe Reader in order to open and read them.

Adobe Reader Link

Brighton Public Library Board

Board meetings are held at the library or via Zoom platform on the 4th Wednesday of the month, at 7:00 pm with the exception of July and August. The public is always welcome to attend.

Robert Burke Chair Email Bob Burke 613-475-5547
Emily Rowley Council Representative / Vice Chair Email Emily Rowley 613-475-0166
Mary Tadman Council Representative Email Mary Tadman 613-475-0888
Murray Workman Trustee Email Murray Workman 613-403-5429
Parise Herbert Trustee Email Parise Herbert 613-475-4436
Carol French Trustee Email Carol French 613-920-6718
Rick Hill Trustee Email Rick Hill 613-849-5696
Shirley Coveney Trustee Email Shirley Coveney 613-475-9219
Johanne Seccareccia Trustee Email Johanne Seccareccia 613-475-6133
Heather Ratz Library CEO, Secretary, Treasurer Email Heather Ratz 613-475-2511



Brighton Public Library Staff

The Brighton Public Library has the following Library Professionals on staff to serve your needs.
Our staff are committed to providing you with excellent service.

Heather Ratz CEO Email Heather Ratz
Penny Kingyens Children's Librarian and Codrington Branch Email Penny Kingyens
Kim Reaman Assistant Librarian  
Andrea Wheeldon Library Marketing Clerk  
Greg Taylor Library Clerk  
Roz Gomez Library Clerk  
Sofia Shanahan Library Clerk  
Alyssa Lee Library Clerk  
David Porteous Library Clerk  
Logan Lloyd Student Library Clerk